LibGuides: Archival Collections: Textiles, Dyes & Dyeing

About

These collections cover both the manufacture and sale of textiles. It includes classroom instruction notes and dye manufacturers' sample-cards.

Skein Dyeing

Althouse, Bates, and Crompton Chemical Companies Photographs, Science History Institute Archives. Object ID 2004.012.026.

Links to Records in the Catalog

35/36" combed leno mercanized and sanforized vat colors sample book
Allebach, Doris J.
Althouse, Bates, and Crompton Chemical Companies Photographs
Manufacture of dyes
American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists
1908-1946
Badische-Anilin & Soda-Fabrik dye labels
The collection consists of fourteen brightly colored pictorial labels for BASF dyes.
Baptista, Robert
1922-2006 (bulk 1960-2000)
Basic and acid colours on calfleather sample book
A Collection of Selected Fabrics Woven by George Manton Scrapbook, 1934-1942
Crompton and Knowles Corporation
1903-2000 (bulk 1930-1999)
The Diamond Dyes sample card of forty-five colors with directions for making over one hundred named colors sample card.
Dow Chemical Company Historical Image Collection
Dow Post Street Archives
Du Pont Dyestuffs-Polyform Viscose Rayon sample cards
These are four small 3.5 x 5.5 sample cards demonstrating a new line of formaldehyde aftertreated dyes for use on viscose process rayons.
Exercises Notebook with Samples of Dyed Wool Fibers
F.B. Reynolds
1905-1918
This collection consists of one pocket notebook and a file of business correspondence. Reynolds was employed as a salesman by the Columbia Bleaching and Finishing Co., West Pullman, IL and Minetto, NY.
General Dyestuffs Corporation - Lab Books
Research Division (Roberta Tremain)
Greene Family Account Book
J. R. Geigy Ltd.
Sample Card Collection, 1921-1958.
Kanebo brochure
Brochure advertising the Kanegafuchi Spinning Company’s full line of products.
Lowell Institute
Textile school
Lynch, Joseph W.
1936-1994 (bulk 1950-1960)
This material consists of student materials used by Lynch while enrolled at the Philadelphia Institute of Textiles and materials collected by Lynch while employed as a working chemist at Du Pont.
May, Ernest
GATT related testimony collection, 1964-1972.
New Bedford Textile School Combers and Mules Handouts
New Bedford Textile School Cotton Handouts
New Bedford Textile School Lecture Notebook Cotton Yarn Preparation no.1
New Bedford Textile School Lecture Notebook Cotton Yarn Preparation no.2
New Bedford Textile School Lecture Notebook Cotton Yarn Preparation no.3
New Bedford Textile School Lecture Notebook Miscellaneous 2nd. General Course
New Bedford Textile School Lecture Pickers, Cards, and Draw Frames Handouts
Notebook of Elmer Percy Trevors
The Paul M. Grinder Collection
Randall H. Greene & Sons Letter Books
Richard G. Mansfield and Associates
1981-1995 (bulk 1989-1995)
This collections consists of two commissioned business reports prepared by a firm of consultants to the textiles industry.
Sample book of shaded colors made by Diamond Dyes.
Samples of colors made by Diamond Dyes sample book
Shades fast to light and sea-water on worsted yarn sample book
Synthetic fibers charts From the Williams Haynes Research Collection
Valentino Textiles & Dyestuffs Collection, 1855-1870
Warnquist Collection on Dye Safety 1993-1999
Crompton & Knowles Colors/ ETAD DyeCare Initiative
The Wilbur L. Williams Collection.