LibGuides: Archival Collections: Analytical Instrumentation

About

Modern chemistry depends upon sophisticated instruments to deliver quick and accurate analyses. In this guide you will find corporate records of instrument makers, personal papers of chemists who worked in the field of chemical instrumentation and, in some cases, collections devoted to individual analytical instruments.

Atomic Absorption Spectrophotometer Model 303

Perkin-Elmer-Applera Corporation Photographs, Science History Institute Archives. Object ID GB01:36.184.

List of Collections

A.E.I. MS9 Collection
Alfred O.C. Nier Miscellany
Baldeschweiler, John
Scanning Tunneling Microscope
Beckman Historical Collection
1911-2011 (bulk 1934-2004)
Business records, correspondence, research files, financial records, photographs, publications, and audio-visual materials of American scientist and industrialist Arnold O. Beckman and the American scientific and medical instrument manufacturer Beckman Coulter, Incorporated.
Bendix Time-of-Flight Mass Spectrometer Photographs
Photographs documenting the creation, production, and marketing of the Bendix Corporation’s flagship analytical instrument, the Time-of-Flight Mass Spectrometer (TOFMS).
Bendix Time of Flight Mass Spectrometer
1952-1993 (bulk 1960-1980)
This is an extensive trove of material relating to the creation, marketing and maintenance of the Bendix Corporation's flagship analytical instrument, the Time-of-Flight Mass Spectrometer. Organized into 3 series: 1. Bendix and CVC Instrumentation Manuals; 2. Technical Files; 3. Schematics and readouts.
Biemann, Klaus
Spectra
Brame, Edward G.
1935-2003 (bulk 1976-1996)
Mass-spectroscopy and water testing
Brody, Sam S.
1955-1992 (bulk 1960-1972)
These papers are concerned with Brody's work with gas chromatography and mostly date from his years as Manager of Instrumentation Development and Applied Research at Melpar/Meloy Laboratories.
Burnett, Roger
X-ray crystallography plates
Coleman Instrument Company master cut book.
This item is ring binder containing loose leaf sheets with texts and images affixed to them to be used in creating advertising material for the Coleman Instrument Company. The cuts are preprinted black and white images of instruments sold by the company.
Consolidated Electrodynamics Corporation
1918-2000 (bulk 1940-1980)
This collection contains professional records of Charles M. Judson, and his former supervisor Harold F. Wiley. Wiley's papers in turn include the surviving business records of the Consolidated Electrodynamics Corporation, a leading American manufacturer of mass spectrometers
David H. Killeffer Collection of Chemical Industry Photographs
1935-1962, (bulk 1940-1950s). Photographs pertaining to various aspects of industrial chemistry collected by science journalist David H. Killeffer for use in his publications.
Fagel, John
Mass Spectroscopy
Fenn, John B.
Ferraro, John R.
1950-2003
Ramam Spectroscopy, Perkin-Elmer
Finnigan, Robert E.
Quadrupole MS
Golay, Marcel J.E.
Henry Earle Lumpkin Photograph Collection
1963-1974. Photographs associated with the use of mass spectrometry compiled by, and often including, Henry Earle Lumpkin, an employee of an oil company in Texas.
Howard Mark Collection
Instrumentation Manual Collection
A collection of instrumentation manuals that deal with various corporation's scientific instruments.
Jaroslav Heyrovsky Photograph Collection
Photographs from the career of Jaroslav Heyrovsky, a Czech physical chemist and Nobel Prize Laureate.
Jensen, E. William
Geoscience Industries Corporation
Judson, Charles M.
1918-2000 (bulk 1940-1980)
Lauterbur, Paul C.
1945-2010.
Organized into 6 series: I.Biographical Data 1945-2006; II.Correspondence, 1956-2007; III.Research, 1955-2007; IV.Professional Activities, 1955-2005; V.Publications, 1956-2008; VI.Publicity and Awards 1974-2010.
Leeds & Northrup Company Potentiometer Recorder Schematic,
Marghoses, Marvin
Eastern Analytical Symposia, Techicon
The Marvin Margoshes Collection.
Mass Spec Collection by Michael Grayson
A small collection of materials dealing with different aspects of mass spectroscopy.
Dempster, Arthur Jeffrey.
Brubaker, Wilson M.
Inghram, Mark Gordon
American Society for Mass Spectrometry.
Associated Electrical Industries.
Merrifield, Bruce
1963-2000 (bulk 1997-2000)
Peptide Synthesizer
Meyerson, Seymour
1944-1999 (bulk 1955-1975)
Use of mass spectrometry by the petroleum industry and the early industry of the field of mass spectrometry.
Miller, Foil
Early infrared spectroscopists
MIT Mass Spec. Lab Programming Notes
High Resolution M.S. data acquisition and reduction programs - program description and algorithms notes, 1979.
Papers of William A. Thanuum
Perkin-Elmer-Applera Corporation Photographs
Staff and instrumentation from the Perkin-Elmer Corporation
Perkin Elmer Corporation miscellaneous materials.
Photographs from the Papers of Edward G. Brame, Jr.
Photographs from the personal life and career of chemist, Edward G. Brame Jr.
Photographs from the Papers of Ernest Ludwig Eliel
Photographs from the career of Ernest Ludwig Eliel; professor, author and one of the founders of modern stereochemistry.
Photographs from the Papers of Howard B. Bishop
Photographs from the life and career of Howard Berkely Bishop, a chemist, photographer and inventor.
Porro, Thomas J.
1958-1992 (bulk 1970-1980)
This is a collection largely comprised of training materials prepared for various Perkin-Elmer made FT-IR analytical instruments.
Reuben Rudman-X-ray Diffraction Analysis Material
Robert H. Burris Photograph Collection
Photographs depicting the colleagues of Robert Harza Burris; a professor of Biochemistry and pioneer in the use of mass spectrometry to study biological nitrogen fixation.
Roberts, John D.
Nuclear magnetic resonance
Rohm, Otto
1914-1916.
Interferometer
Rudman, Rueban
X-ray Diffraction
Russell Vaniman's Vibrating Reed Electrometer Notes
Savitsky, Abraham
Shell Oil Company
IR Spectroscopy
Slavin, Walter
Atomic Absorption Spectroscopy; Perkin-Elmer
Tag - Roesch Time-Temperature-Condensation Controller Literature & Parts Schematics.
Tagliabue, Charles J.
TAG Manufacturing Company, product catalogs
Termatrex Collection
Thaanum, William
Cary Instrument Company
Thomas J. Porro Collection of Perkin-Elmer Photographs
Print photographs and slides depicting the instrumentation and staff of the Perkin-Elmer Corporation predominately dating from the 1950s and the 1980s.
Vaniman, Ross
Vibrating reed electrometer
Varian Associates Schematics
Varian Incorporated
Schematics for V-6000 series instruments
Vincent J. Coates Collection of Instrumentation Ephemera
1933-1970.
Weibel, Leo
Mass spectroscopy, Hewlett-Packard
Weston Anderson Papers
1962-1996 (bulk 1962-1969)
Materials collected by Weston Anderson relating to his work with Nobel laureate Richard Ernst in the development of NMR
Wiley, Harold
1918 - 2000 (bulk 1940-1980)
Consolidated Electrodynamics Corporation, a leading American manufacturer of mass spectrometers.
Wilks, Paul A.
IR spectroscopy, Perkin-Elmer, air-testing, Wilks Scientific