LibGuides: Archival Collections: History of Chemistry

About

These are the collections dealing wholly or in part with the history of chemistry. They are personal papers and records from societies that are/ were interested in the subject of the history of chemistry.

First National Symposium on Colloid Chemistry, 1925

American Chemical Society Group Portraits, Science History Institute Archives. Object ID 2005.502.002.

List of Collections

ACS Division on the History of Chemistry
ACS National Chemical Historical Landmarks Program
American Institute of Chemists, Records 1923-2001 (bulk 1970-2000)
A collection of correspondence and documents generated by the American Institute of Chemists.
Benfey autographed letter collection
This is a collection of 21 letters, signed by eminent chemists of the modern era.
Edward Mazurs Image Collection
Periodic tables
A Fateful Friendship Standard Oil of New Jersey, I.G. Farben and the Politics of Synthetic Rubber Research File, 2004
Fisher-Pasteur Memorial Collection
George B. Kauffman history of chemistry lecture notes, 1950.
handwritten notes taken by Kauffman as a student in Claude Deischer's History of Chemistry course at the University of Pennsylvania in 1950.
Gleason's Pictorial
Article relating to lead pipes.
Handwritten Letter from Giovanni Antonio Giobert, 1812.
Historical Notes on the Gold-Cure
This is reprint of an article that originally appeared in Popular Science Monthly for August, 1892.
Jerome A. Berson
John J. Beer
This is a collection of reprints written between 1926 and 1996. The reprints cover various aspects and personalities of the history of alchemy, chemistry, and the molecular sciences.
John Wotiz
A comprehensive overview of Wotiz's career as both as a professor of organic chemistry and as a historian of science.
Josef Loschmidt and Archibald Scott Couper
1853-1997 (bulk 1990-1997)
Kzl und Morgenthau by Erwin Weinbrenner.
Lloyd H. Conover
Robert B. Woodward
Manuscript Letter by Marsilio Landriani to a Naturalist, 1787.
Micheal P. Barnett
Charles A. Coulson
Morris Goran's Fritz Haber Biography Research Files
Fritz Haber biography research files.
Perkin-Elmer Bodenseewerk Museum Collection
Robert E. Kohler Papers
Roger Hahn
Lavoisier
Roger Hahn Collection of History of Chemistry Reprints
Virgil Payne
William D. Williams- Wyndham Miles
History of Chemistry reprint collection
Williams Haynes Portrait Collection
Portraits of notable chemists
Witco Stamp Collection
A collection of international postage stamps and philatelic material depicting various aspects of chemistry and related sciences.